Daviess County Sheriff's Office

212 St. Ann Street

Owensboro, KY  42303



Tax Collection

The sheriff is directed by KRS 134.119 to be the collector of state, county, and district property taxes.  The sheriff’s property tax responsibilities include the collection of all types of property tax bills including any additional, supplemental, omitted, or franchise property tax bills that are issued.  All monthly collections must be accounted for in a report submitted to each taxing district.


The sheriff’s office mails property tax bills for real estate and tangible property within the first week of November each year.  These bills cover the current year’s taxes for the property.  Taxes are collected in accordance to the following schedule:


November through December 10 - 2% discount for early payment                                                                        

December 11 through January 10 – base amount of tax bill is due                                      

January 11 through February 10 – a 5% penalty is added to each tax bill                         

February 11 through April 25 – a penalty of 21% is assessed on each bill


If a tax due date happens to land on a weekend, the due date will be extended through the following Monday.  We also accept payments postmarked on the due date.


At the end of the sheriff’s collection schedule, the bills are handed over to the county clerk.  The county clerk’s office will continue collection of all delinquent tax bills.


Taxes may be paid in person, by mail, or by paying with a credit card over the phone.  We accept cash (in office only), checks, money orders, and credit cards.  (Visa, Discover, & Master Card only)  A processing fee of 2.49% is added to each bill paid by credit card.


Our office is open from 8 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.  The tax line phone number is 270-685-6133.

For more tax information, check the following websites:


            www.daviesskypva.org – Daviess County PVA Office

            www.daviessky.org – Daviess County Clerk

            www.dcsdky.com – Daviess County Sheriff’s Office

Print | Sitemap
© Daviess County Sheriff's Office, KY