Why Do I Need an Inspection?
Kentucky law requires that any vehicle without a Kentucky title be inspected by a Kentucky certified vehicle inspector before being licensed in this state. The Sheriff's Office in each county is responsible for inspecting vehicles. The vehicle must comply with the provisions of KRS Chapter 189 which pertains to vehicle equipment. According to statute, the vehicle must be in a condition that provides for safe operation upon the highway and capable of transporting both persons and content in a safe manner. This includes, but is not limited to: brakes, steering, headlights, rear lights, brake lights, turn signals, mirrors, and wipers.
**Vehicles with cracked or missing windshields will not pass inspection!
What Will Be Inspected?
The certified vehicle Inspector will check the vehicle identification number (VIN) and compare it with the Title or Certificate of Origin. This information, along with the vehicle's mileage, is recorded on a Kentucky Application for Certificate of Title/Registration Form. A driver's license is required in order to complete the form. Please be prepared for the inspector to check the vehicle for safety features including: lights, wipers, horn, turn signals, glass, brakes, tires, exhaust, etc.
What Do I Need to Bring?
An inspection can only be completed when the following items are provided: the vehicle, title to the vehicle, driver's license from one of the 50 states, $5 cash or check
Inspections are conducted at the Daviess County Sheriff's Office, 212 Saint Ann Street, from 8 AM until 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday. Inspections will not be performed on holidays that the office is closed.
Two designated vehicle inspection parking spots are located on Saint Ann Street for your convenience.
A deputy can inspect a vehicle at another location within Daviess County for an additional $10 fee.
Off-Site Vehicle Inspection Request
In order to perform the vehicle inspection we will need the following:
1) Vehicle to be inspected.
2) Title to the Vehicle.
3) Operator's License of person requesting the inspection.
4) A printed copy of Form TC 96‐182. (Note: the inspector will fill in the box in the top right hand corner "Certified Inspector Section")
5) Payment in the form of cash or check made out to the "Daviess County Sheriff's Office".
Cost: $10 fee to come to Off-Site location + $5 for each vehicle.